LEPOA Election Committee

Date: May 21, 2025

Brief Background and Ballot Counting Process

The LEPOA Election Committee was established in December 2024 at the request of LEPOA President Dan Fahrer. The initial committee included two volunteers: Tamara Goetz and Jill Coleman. The committee began by reviewing various concerns raised by LEPOA members and developed a proposal aimed at addressing those issues. Based on ongoing discussions, the recommendations were revised and subsequently presented to the full LEPOA Board in January 2025, where they were formally adopted.

The LEPOA Annual Meeting took place on Sunday, May 18, 2025, at the Cambridge Township Hall. During the meeting, ballots were submitted to the Election Committee for verification and counting. Prior to reviewing any ballots, all Election Committee volunteers, along with the LEPOA President, signed a Non-Disclosure Agreement (NDA) to ensure the confidentiality of member selections and any financial information.

The Election Committee members responsible for the vote count were Tamara Goetz, Paul Knapp, and Reid Thayer. Jill Coleman had resigned from the committee prior to the meeting.

During the ballot count, a question was raised regarding the eligibility of one of the candidates. Specifically, it was questioned whether only property owners are permitted to vote and serve on the Board. Upon reviewing the Loch Erin Bylaws, the language confirmed that eligibility is indeed limited to property owners.

A review of public property records determined that one of the write-in candidates was not listed as a property owner and was therefore ineligible to serve. To ensure a fair and comprehensive process, the Election Committee reviewed the eligibility of all candidates—incumbents, those listed on the ballot, and all write-ins